The DeGroote School of Business and Alectra are pleased to announce the ‘Alectra Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (ED&I) Scholarship’. The scholarship will offer more racialized individuals the opportunity to attain governance education and certification, by completing The Directors College Chartered Director (C.Dir.) Program, a DeGroote Executive Program.

“At DeGroote, we recognize the importance of supporting our diverse community. We are thrilled about the opportunity to foster a more inclusive environment as a result of this partnership,” said Dr. Khaled Hassanein, Dean DeGroote School of Business. “We are grateful for Alectra’s contribution to our shared values and are enthusiastic about welcoming future scholarship recipients to our program.”

Alectra will be funding the annual scholarship, awarded to one Ontario-based individual who identifies as racialized, each calendar year between 2021 and 2025 and will cover all five modules of the C.Dir. Program.

“Equity, diversity and inclusion are embedded in Alectra’s culture. Breaking down barriers and expanding possibilities through this scholarship program will provide under-represented individuals with new tools to lead,” said Brian Bentz, President and CEO, Alectra Inc. “It’s an important step in achieving greater diversity for today and in the future.”

This scholarship is open to candidates who self-identify as part of Indigenous or racialized groups, which are underrepresented on corporate boards. In addition to the general assessment factors, efforts on behalf of the identified community, including, but not limited to leadership roles, as well as commitment to social purpose and/or involvement in charitable or community sectors, will also be considered.

The C.Dir. Program is a globally recognized university-accredited professional designation providing individuals with the knowledge and insight to be effective board members. This scholarship program will support board diversity and emerging leaders moving ahead.

“The Directors College is pleased to partner with Alectra to offer this scholarship opportunity. We believe in the value of encouraging fresh perspectives in the boardroom that can challenge conventional wisdoms and lead to more impactful outcomes,” said Dave Mammoliti, Managing Director of The Directors College and Executive Programs at the DeGroote School of Business. “Our program continues to demonstrate its leadership in governance education by enabling recipients to gain the knowledge and skills to become more effective board members, while helping create a more racially diverse and inclusive governance landscape.”

In 2020, Alectra launched an internal ED&I policy and developed an Anti-Racism Campaign. These efforts have grown beyond company walls and into our communities by supporting several local anti-racism initiatives delivered through activism, community building, education and scholarships.

The 2021 scholarship application window will be open from September 13 – December 10, 2021. The 2021 scholarship recipient will be announced by December 17, 2021 and will be eligible to participate in 2022 C.Dir. Program Modules. 

­About Alectra Inc.

Serving more than one million homes and businesses in Ontario’s Greater Golden Horseshoe area, Alectra Utilities is now the largest municipally-owned electric utility in Canada, based on the total number of customers served. We contribute to the economic growth and vibrancy of the 17 communities we serve by investing in essential energy infrastructure, delivering a safe and reliable supply of electricity, and providing innovative energy solutions.

Our mission is to be an energy ally, helping our customers and the communities we serve to discover the possibilities of tomorrow’s energy future.


Eligibility Requirements

Application Requirements and Instructions

Scholarship Application: Certification and Attestation Form

News Release


Please direct any questions about the scholarship to:



Christopher Hope – 2018
Anne-Josée Laquerre – 2019
Michelle Stanford – 2020


Mark Tiu Lim – 2018
Danielle Rocheleau – 2019


Brandon Day – 2020