Gil Bennett Award

The Gil Bennett Gold Standard Award was named in honour of former Canadian Tire Chair, Gil Bennett. Since 2006, the annual award has been presented to a Directors College graduate who demonstrates dedication to raising the bar for professional standards in corporate governance through his or her progress in the Chartered Director (C.Dir.) program. Award recipients are selected by a committee comprised of key faculty who carefully consider all candidates who meet criteria.

Award Criteria

  • score in the top 10 percent of final exam
  • positive contribution to class discussion
  • constructive behaviour as a director during the board simulation in Module 5

2019 Recipient

  • Meredith Low, Principal, Meredith Low ConsultingGil Bennett award winner Meredith Low

Previous Recipients

  • Philip Twyford, Assistant Deputy Minister, British Columbia Public Service
  • Jeff Lehman, Mayor, City of Barrie, 2017
  • Carol Hunter, Independent, Independent, 2016
  • Franca Gucciardi, CEO, Loran Scholars Foundation, 2015
  • Brian Friedrich, Principal, friedrich & friedrich Corporation, 2014
  • Dr. Richard Florizone, President, Dalhousie University, 2013
  • Reena Sagoo, Executive Vice-President, Finance, Borealis Infrastructure, 2012
  • Jim Adamson, Director, Com Dev International, 2011
  • John Ryan, CEO, Canadian Society of Immigration Consultants, 2010
  • Andy Poprawa, President and CEO of the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO), 2009
  • Adam Cooper, Former Chair of the Board of Directors, Educators Financial Group, Inc., 2008
  • Michael MacBean, Managing Director, TriWest Capital Partners, 2007
  • Don McCreesh, Corporate Director and President, The Garnet Group Inc., 2006

For more information on the Gil Bennett Award, please contact us at 

Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Brochure  |  Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility

Canada’s Gold Standard in Governance Education

Our mission is to advance transformative governance for the benefit of business and society, enabling our alumni to be forward thinking (Know), values-driven (Be), and change enabling (Do).

Logos of The Directors College and the DeGroote School of Business at McMaster University

The Directors College is a collaboration between The Conference Board of Canada and the DeGroote School of Business at McMaster University.
© Copyright 2019 The Directors College, Ron Joyce Centre, 4350 South Service Road, Burlington, ON L7L 5R8 Canada

Follow Us